New Years Resolutions

Here we are, the end of the year. I have to say, 2014 did not turn out the way I had planned it back in December of 2013. I imagined I’d be writing like the wind by now, instead, I spent my year on personal reflection and in therapy.

I don’t regret a thing.

Spending this year in therapy has taught me a lot about who I am as a person and who I was. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to being that person who existed a year ago. That person was very bitter, rude, self-agonizing and self-destructive.

The person I am now is better, more whole, but still healing from the wounds that were inflicted – both self and done to me. The new me is looking forward to next year, and as a result, is making different resolutions than the year before. So I’m going to list the resolutions below that I’ve decided on for the year of 2015.

 

Resolutions:

1. Spend more time on me –  I’m including journaling, art, walking and weight loss, actually getting my hair cut when I need to, not when I can’t stand my hair anymore. These things I neglect when I get in to a self-destructive spiral, so I’m planning on having less of them next year.

2. Write more – Even if it’s journaling, I’m going to write more in this coming year. So look out, there might be more stories from me in the future!

3. Reading! – I have this great list I stole from Tumblr. I fully plan on reading most of the list. If you all want to follow along with me, I’ll type up the list below.

 

 

Ellie’s Stolen Reading List for 2015

  • A book with more than 500 pages
  • A classic romance
  • A book that became a movie
  • A book published in 2015
  • A book with a number in the title
  • A book written by someone under 30
  • A book with non-human characters
  • A funny book
  • A book by a female author
  • A mystery or thriller
  • A book with a one-word title
  • A book of short stories
  • A book set in a different country
  • A non-fiction book
  • A popular author’s first book
  • A book from an author you love, that you haven’t read yet
  • A book a friend recommended
  • A Pulitzer prize-winning book
  • A book based on a true story
  • A book at the bottom of your to-read pile
  • A book your mom (or dad) loves
  • A book that scares you
  • A book that is more than 100 years old
  • A book based entirely on its cover
  • A book that you were supposed to read in school, but didn’t
  • A memoir

 

  • A book you can finish in a day
  • A book with antonyms in the title
  • A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
  • A book that came out the year you were born
  • A book with bad reviews
  • A trilogy
  • A book from your childhood
  • A book with a love triangle
  • A book set in the future
  • A book set in high school
  • A book with a color in the title
  • A book that made you cry
  • A book with magic
  • A graphic novel
  • A book by an author you’ve never read before
  • A book you own, but have never read
  • A book that takes place in your hometown
  • A book that was originally written in another language
  • A book set during Christmas
  • A book written by an author with your same initials
  • A play
  • A banned book
  • A book based on, or turned in to a TV show
  • A book you started, but never finished

So there it is, my reading list for this year. Rather ambitious, but I like it.

… even if I did steal it from someone else.

I can’t think of anything else at the moment for resolutions. I’ll probably add a couple more later, but for now I think this works.

Leave a Reply

