Blog Hop: The Writing Process

I’ve been dragged kicking and screaming into writing this and I’m not entirely sure I’m even qualified to talk about writing much less give writing advice, but here I am.

I got tagged by MixedUpPainter and Murphy. They’re the ones that keep pestering me to do this. Apparently I write good things.

 

Blog Hop Rules:  
Answer the four questions below, link back to the person who invited you, and link to the people who will be posting the following Monday.

 

1. What am I working on?

 

This is a tough question for me because I’ve got so many rods in the fire that I’m struggling with the balance. Here’s what I’m currently working on:

Marlowe in Blue:

I’m really working hard to start writing more posts for this one, not only because I love the world I created with Marlowe and Blueville, but because I left all my characters in some very interesting situations. Writing for Marlowe is especially a challenge because its first person as it’s happening to Marlowe.

Hunting with Grace:

Grace is currently in progress. I’m working on a time line for her. I have so many characters that I’m bringing in to her world and I’ve yet to figure out who’s really pulling all the shenanigans. This one started out as a “What song can I use in a short” kind of dare that just exploded from there.

Unnamed Novel:

Yeah, I’m keeping this one to myself. It is however, another “let’s see what this will do if I do this and this” to a character.

 

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

 

I don’t think I have a genre. If I were, I’d have to say Urban Paranormal. In which case I differ because all of my characters have real lives while they’re trying to deal with whatever crap I throw at them. In some cases it means going to work while someone is trying to kill you, because hey, you’ve got to eat if you’re going to live.

I also try to follow the Joss Wheadon school of writing: Go dark, go sad but for fuck’s sake, tell a joke.

I’m really good at it, according to Murphy.

 

3. Why do I write what I write?

 

I’m really sick of heroines that don’t have lives of their own. The problem comes up and all of a sudden, it’s all they can think about. Really? Who does that in real life? Sure, people think about it, but they still have to go to work anyway.

I’m also pissed that heroines give up everything for a man. Any man. My heroines? Well they’ve got the man, but now they’re focused on the kind of grown up problems that come with having the man and a sorceress that just loves fucking with their lifestyle. Children? Yep, I have them too because guess what? Real life doesn’t mean ignoring the kids either. I’ve found that including them means I have a much more expansive and real world that gives a lot of danger to it when someone’s life is threatened.

 

4. How does your writing process work?

 

I have this bag. I love the bag. Into the bag I’ve tossed every single idea I’ve ever had. It all gets written down on a card and folded over, then tossed in to the bag. Whenever I’m short for an idea, I reach in to the bag, grab a couple, and try to figure out how to put them into a story.

There are photos, one line sentences, entire paragraphs, and even just lists of crap that can be found in an adventurer’s bag.

Where do I find these ideas? I keep a stack of note cards with me where ever I go. When I see something or hear something that’s funny, I write it down, stuff it in to my pocket or purse, then into the bag it goes when I get home.

I’m part pantser, part planner.

Once I get an idea from my pants, I start writing. Then I plan. Especially if I have a good enough idea that’s kept me interested and made me want to see it through to the end.

Then there’s the music. I’ll grab anything. Hard rock, classical, movie sound tracks, string metal – As long as it fits what I’m writing, I’ll listen to it. Marlowe’s soundtrack is a little all over the place, considering where her life is right now, I’m not really surprised. Grace has been all classic rock from the 60s, 70s and 80s.

All of that goes in to the writing process which also includes walking around my bedroom and muttering lines until I get the right ones worked out. If a scene is giving me trouble, you can bet I’m walking and saying lines. I probably should have been an actor, but I’m shy and suffer from stage fright badly.

 

I guess that’s it. I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but if you have any questions you can drop me a line at marloweinblueville@gmail.com

 

Thanks to Jess and Murphy for tagging me.

 

I’m now tagging Raggedy Author, who can be found here and here.

I’m also tagging Sushimustwrite. She can be found here and here.

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop: The Writing Process

  1. Ooooh, you bastard. 😛 I love your bag idea! That’s amazing, I might have to steal it.
    I prepared my version of this blog so it’ll post next Monday. I’m really bad at these though. I never know who to tag! xoxo Thank you for the insight into the way you write what you do though!

    • Yay, Ellie! You did it! And hot damn do I love that Joss Whedon quote. It’s more or less the reason my characters get so sassy.

Leave a Reply

