Whiteout

It was cold. I’ve never been this cold. I shivered in my parka as I made my way through the snow across the frozen tundra to the mail drop. Supplies were scarce this far north and the drop meant that we could continue the mission for a little while longer.

I was half way to the drop when a brown and white blur sped by in the corner of my eye. It was a dog. Probably belonged to one of the locals. I heard a shout and the dog ran back to his owner. I caught the eye of the owner and nodded. I couldn’t tell if it was a man or woman, but they nodded back and went inside their own dwelling.

No one would stay outside in this storm. Only the desperate would go outside, and I was desperate.

I pushed on through the snow and finally reached the drop. Pulling my hands out of my pockets where they were warm, I sighed as I grabbed the boxes. They were safe and undamaged.

Perfect.

I turned and made my way back to my own dwelling, the wind tearing at my coat and wrapping itself around my now exposed fingers. I whimpered a little from the cold and tried to move faster. The wood frame of the house I was staying in came in to view and I smiled. Home. I was home.

Making my way up to the door, I tucked my precious boxes under one arm and opened the door. I stepped inside and closed it behind me, leaning against the door.

“It’s not that cold outside you know. You’re acting like you’ve been sent to the Arctic.” My roommate said.

“Says you.” I replied.

“It’s not even snowing that hard!”

“Again, says you.”

“What was so important that you needed to go out, dressed like that?” She asked as she looked at my boxes.

“My tea order arrived.”

I heard a groan and a thunk as her head hit the desk. I smiled.

Leave a Reply

