Hello Mister Fancy-Ass

Her chest hurt. That was the first thing she felt as she woke. It was a deep throbbing ache like she had been punched in the chest. Kate hadn’t felt anything like that since her training days. She groaned and sat up. Looking around, Kate noticed that she was on a bed of straw that had been heaped on a flat pallet-style raised bed.

Swinging her legs over the side of the bed Kate sat fully upright enough to realize that the cell she was in, was swaying. As the room swayed, Kate looked down at her feet. A glint from something on her chest made her pull her shirt open a bit so that she could see her chest. Kate didn’t understand what she saw and didn’t get a chance to understand when the door to the cell she was in was flung open.

“Oh good, you’re finally awake.”

Kate yelped and looked up at him. He was tall, with brown hair and green eyes. His face triggered something in her mind that screamed not to trust him.

“Hello, Mister Fancy-ass. Care to tell me why I’m on your ship with no memory of how I got here?” Kate quipped at him.

“Your vulgar language suits you ill.”

“Your vulgar face makes me ill, but I still want answers.”

“That’s good, because I’d like to have some as well. Even if your methods are unbecoming of a lady.” He said as he sat in the chair someone brought for him.

“Oh, I’m no lady. I’m your worst nightmare.” Kate said as she straightened her shoulders. Two could play his game.

“Then do you want to tell me why you have the Star of Eternity embedded in to your chest?”

“What can I say? It likes me.” Kate said as she put her hand over the jewels she found there.

“Very well, Witch. Have it your way.” He said as she stood. “Cut them out of her and then toss her overboard.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Total for this week’s Trifecta: 332

I thought I’d take a break from writing Marlowe inspired prompts and re-visit Kate, before she met William. You can catch more of Marlowe’s antics over at her blog, Marlowe in Blue.

5 thoughts on “Hello Mister Fancy-Ass

Leave a Reply

