Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five – Rainbow

“Rainbow’s Pot of Gold? What is that, a strip club?” I stared out the window as we went by the club. Just a few hours before I could have sworn it was a Starbucks.

Ben laughed at the face I was making.

“Yeah, Marlowe. It’s a strip club.”

“But, I thought a rainbow and its pot of gold was supposed to be something symbolic. You know, like something you’ll never get?”

“Welcome to the reality of gentlemen’s clubs. Look all you want, but you’ll never get.”

“I don’t understand men.”

“That’s all right, I don’t understand women. I guess we’re even.”

I laughed and toed off my shoes. My feet were still sandy from being at the lake all day. As I stuck them out the side of the car window, I reached over and put my hand on Ben’s arm as he drove toward our street. It had been a good day. Even the lake beast had come up from the bottom of the lake to say hello and play with the kids on the shoreline.

I really loved this town.

9 thoughts on “Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five – Rainbow

  1. I’m so intrigued by your writing. The last line is so. . .out of place. It’s absolutely perfect. I could read a lot of this.

    Oh, but your ‘it’s pot of gold’ should be ‘its pot of gold’.

    Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

