Trifecta: Week Ninety-Four: Mask

It was hot in Blueville. Summer had arrived with a vengeance and the clay mask I had applied was taking its sweet time to dry. I was fine with it though as I hooked a leg over the side of the swing on the back porch. It faced the woods, but there was a nice breeze coming in with just enough of a smell of rain to make me smile.

I was beginning to love it here. It was a little weird, but so far it wasn’t that bad. Even Miles’s crazy stories about Halloween weren’t that unrealistic anymore.

“You know Marlowe, you really shouldn’t be hanging out on your back porch like that. Someone could see you.”

I opened an eye to stare at my cousin, then closed it and lifted my face back in to the wind. I loved the smell of the rain just before a storm started.

“If I didn’t want to be seen, I’d be inside. You’re just trying to make me nervous because you like my neighbor.”

“Well, I don’t deny that man has a fine ass, but he’s more interested in you than me. You want to draw him in, not scare him half to death.”

“You’re just jealous that you can’t rock this like I can.” I smiled and felt the clay crack. Maybe it was dry enough. I opened my eyes with a long sigh and looked at my cousin. “Since you’re here, you might as well fill me in on the details from the town meeting while I take this off.”

Miles followed me in to my cottage, which had moved my bedroom from the first floor to the second while I was asleep last night. I freaked out and called Ben, who laughed and told me that was normal. The house was changing to suit me, the way his castle suited him. Secretly pleased, I thanked him and accepted his offer of dinner later. So Miles had to go soon.

10 thoughts on “Trifecta: Week Ninety-Four: Mask

  1. Mmmm…I love the smell of air right before rain, too 🙂 Did I read that right the cottage rearranges itself to suit the owner? Bizarre- and intriguing!

    I think you might have an extra word in the first sentence of the last paragraph: “…which was had moved my bedroom”. I think ‘was’ is extra??

Leave a Reply

