Trifecta: Week Ninety-Three – Grace

I stepped off the moving truck with a box in my arms and nearly stumbled over the stoop to my newly purchased two bedroom cottage when someone behind me said hello.

“I didn’t mean to scare you!” He said as he grabbed my waist and picked me and my box up.

“You didn’t frighten me, I just naturally have that much grace when someone I’m not expecting says hello.” I said as I looked behind me.

The man started laughing. He put me down and I placed the box I was carrying on the stoop. A smile tugged at the corner of my mouth.

“I’m really sorry about that. I just came over to introduce myself. I’m Ben. I live next door.” He said as he gestured to what I could only describe as a castle. It was three floors with it’s own turrets and a tower. It was an unusual home and now that I knew he was the owner, it suited him.

“Nice to meet you, Ben. I’m Marlowe.” I said. I reached out to shake his hand.

He smiled and took it, giving it a quick firm shake before letting go. “Do you need a hand with all those boxes?”

“No, my cousin is on his way here to give me a hand. The offer is appreciated and I’ll let you know if anything changes.”

Ben smiled. “All right. I’ll be just across the hedge if you need a hand. Just pull on the door bell.”

I laughed. “That house of yours have anything that doesn’t remind me of a medieval castle?”

“It even comes complete with a moat on Halloween.” He said with a grin.

“You’re serious, aren’t you?”

“This is Blueville. Anything is possible here.” He said with a smile as he walked away.

He was out of earshot before I could reply, so I just stared as he ran around the end of the hedge. This town was strange.

10 thoughts on “Trifecta: Week Ninety-Three – Grace

  1. Very definitely strange but loved the feel of this piece.Loved the way you wove in the word prompt-so gracefully-hope you are going to feed us more scraps as the days go by?:-)

Leave a Reply

