Wings

Note: I have never been base jumping, but a friend of mine has and this is how he says he feels.

 

 


stand on the bluff,

Arms out-stretched

To catch the cool breeze

That carries the smell of rain.

The wind from the east whips hard

like a driver cracking a whip over his team

I make a wish before jumping

for the wings I have yet to see.

Heated blood pumps through my veins

my heart races

breath catching

as that first few seconds of freedom lifts my soul.

Falling in to the wind

that crashes upon the cliff

I reach for the cord at my shoulder and pull

my breath whooshing out as the silk canopy snaps open.

Carried on the wind

toggles adjusting to steer me towards land and not water

my heart crushed as I realize

my wings are only short-lived.

Leave a Reply

